Vasco Araújo

28.09.2018 - 17.03.2019
Buy your ticket

The oeuvre of Vasco Araújo (°1975, Lisbon) is rooted in literature and philosophy. The artist seeks to expose the gaze of ‘the other’ in a critical way, but he is also interested in the ambiguity of relationships, the fragility of systems, and the way in which we form our own realities. To this end, he uses a combination of various media.

Desire

Araújo’s work is constructed around concepts like identity and sexuality, virtue and the morality of duty, emotion and the instincts of desire and passion. Araújo: “Desire in the broad sense is an important theme in my work. What does it mean to collect things, for example? Is it purely about possession or does the factor of love also play a role? And what effects do our desires have on our relationships with our loved ones?”

These are the questions he raises in works like O Amante (2004), which shows a group of drawings and objects combined with text fragments that focus on collectors’ urge to own things.

Researching behavioural codes

Araújo develops his visual language by researching behavioural codes that reflect on the relationship between humanity and the world. To this end, he employs various media, such as sculpture, installation, video, photography, and performance. The role of the body, the voice, gestures, language, and social norms are all reconsidered in his poetry. He enriches this poetry with influences from opera, dance, modernism, or mythology. 

In the video Portrait (2014), for example, this results in a dialogue between painted portraits that talk about their feelings, power games, and one’s relationship with the other. The work tells us something about our relationships, but it is likewise about memories and our memory itself.

Statues as memory

Vasco Araújo also refers to the past often. “How do we construct ourselves based on our history? Old objects, such as statues, are in a certain sense our memory. They reflect on people who lived at a certain point in history. They thus enable us to look into the past and on that basis, to reflect on our own time.”

We find this line of thought in the recent work Notebook (2018), in which Araújo ascribes character traits to forty portraits from Antiquity. The result seems almost like the notebook of a filmmaker describing his characters.

In this solo exhibition, Araújo presents a selection of works from the period between 2004 and 2018, with a focus on recent work. 

Curator: Eva Wittocx

Vasco Araújo

BIO

Vasco Araújo

BIO

Vasco Araújo (°1975) lives and works in Lisbon, Portugal. He has participated in several national and international group exhibitions, and has had solo exhibitions at Centro Cultural de España, Montevideo (2018); Autograph ABP, London (2016); MALBA, Buenos Aires (2015), Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian/CAM, Lisbon (2010); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2005); S.M.A.K., Ghent (2004); Museu de Serralves, Porto (2004), and others. He has also participated in a number of residential programmes, such as FLACC, Genk (2016); Pinacoteca do Estado de S. Paulo, San Paulo (2014); Récollets, Paris (2005); Core Program, Houston (2003/04).


Vasco Araújo’s work forms part of many private and public collections, such as those of the Centre Pompidou, Musée d’Art Moderne, France; Museu Colecção Berardo, Arte Moderna e Contamporânea, Portugal; Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (Portugal); Museo Nacional Reina Sofía, Centro de Arte (Spain); Fundação de serralves (Portugal). His work O Jardim (2005) is currently being exhibited at KANAL, Centre-Pompidou Brussels.


A number of Vasco Araújo’s films will also be screened at M during the Playground Festival.


Website: www.vascoaraujo.org

Vasco Araújo

28.09.2018 - 17.03.2019
Achetez votre ticket

L’œuvre de Vasco Araújo (°1975, Lisbonne) plonge ses racines dans la littérature et la philosophie. L’artiste veut, de manière critique, mettre à nu le regard de « l’autre », mais aussi l’ambiguïté des relations, la fragilité des systèmes et notre manière à chacun de se représenter la réalité. Pour y parvenir, il combine différentes disciplines.

Désir

Le travail de Vasco Araújo est construit autour de concepts tels que l’identité et la sexualité, la vertu et la moralité du devoir, le monde des sentiments ou encore les instincts de cupidité et de passion. Vasco Araújo : « Le désir, au sens large, est un thème important dans mon travail. Quel sens y a-t-il, par exemple, à collectionner des choses ? S’agit-il purement de possession, ou faut-il également y voir un facteur amour ? Et quel effet nos désirs ont-ils sur les relations que nous entretenons avec ceux que nous aimons ? »

Ces questions reviennent notamment dans l’œuvre intitulée O Amante (2004), qui montre un groupe de dessins en rapport avec des fragments de textes qui zooment sur la pulsion de possession qui anime les collectionneurs.

Étude des codes de comportement

Vasco Araújo développe son langage imagé par l’étude des codes de comportement qui explorent la relation entre l’homme et le monde. Il utilise pour cela plusieurs disciplines telles que la sculpture, les installations, la vidéo, la photo et les performances. Par sa poésie, il revisite le rôle du corps, la voix, les gestes, la langue et les normes sociales. Il enrichit cette poésie par des influences venant de l’opéra, l’étiquette, la danse ou la mythologie. 

Dans la vidéo Portrait (2014), par exemple, on assiste à une conversation entre des portraits peints qui parlent de leurs sentiments, de petits jeux de pouvoir et de la relation à l’autre. L’œuvre, qui nous révèle des choses sur nos relations, est également en lien avec nos souvenirs et notre mémoire.

Des statues en guise de mémoire

Vasco Araújo replonge aussi régulièrement dans le passé. « Comment nous construisons-nous à partir de notre histoire ? Les objets anciens tels que les statues constituent, dans un certain sens, notre mémoire. Ils sont un reflet des personnes qui ont vécu jadis, à un moment donné de l’histoire. Ils nous donnent ainsi l’occasion de regarder dans le passé et, en partant de là, de réfléchir à notre propre époque. »

On retrouve aussi clairement ce mode de pensée dans son œuvre récente intitulée Notebook (2018), où Araújo attribue des traits de caractère à 40 portraits de l’Antiquité. Le résultat ressemble au carnet de notes d’un cinéaste décrivant ses personnages.

Dans cette exposition individuelle, Vasco Araújo présente une sélection d’œuvres de la période 2004-2018, l’accent étant mis sur ses travaux récents. 


Commissaire : Eva Wittocx

Vasco Araújo

BIO

Vasco Araújo

BIO

Vasco Araújo (°1975) habite et travaille à Lisbonne, au Portugal. Au-delà de différentes participations à des expositions collectives nationales et internationales, il a notamment exposé en solo dans les lieux suivants : Centro Cultural de España à Montevideo (2018), Autograph ABP à Londres (2016), MALBA à Buenos Aires (2015), Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian/CAM à Lisbonne (2010), Jeu de Paume à Paris (2005), S.M.A.K. à Gand (2004), Museu de Serralves à Porto (2004). Il a également suivi quelques programmes en résidence tels que FLACC à Genk (2016), Pinacoteca do Estado de S. Paulo à San Paulo (2014), Récollets à Paris (2005), Core Program à Houston (2003/04).


L’œuvre de Vasco Araújo fait partie de nombreuses collections privées et publiques, notamment au Centre Pompidou, au Musée d’Art Moderne (France), au Museu Colecção Berardo, à l’Arte Moderna e Contamporânea (Portugal), à la Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (Portugal), au Museo Nacional Reina Sofía, au Centro de Arte (Espagne) et à la Fundação de Serralves (Portugal). Actuellement, son œuvre O Jardim (2005) est présentée à Bruxelles au musée KANAL - Centre Pompidou.


Plusieurs films de Vasco Araújo seront projetés lors du festival Playground.


Site : www.vascoaraujo.org