Béatrice Balcou

20.09.2019 - 26.01.2020
Buy your ticket

The performances, sculptures, drawings and installations by French artist Béatrice Balcou offer innovative sensory and emotional exhibition rituals that demand thoughtful attention for art.

Taking time

Balcou copies other people’s artworks and takes on the role of ‘art handler’ and ‘art registrar’, as it were. She thus radically challenges our relationship with art and the way art is produced. To Balcou, an artwork is not a fleeting image to be identified or consumed quickly. In her view, the essence of art lies in the way in which we look at things, the time we take for it and what we learn from the process of looking.

Activation, interaction

In her exhibition at M, Balcou is bringing together several series of works: a series of existing 'placebo' and 'assistant' sculptures, film ceremonies, drawings, and works that will be activated within the space. These spatial and temporary installations invite us to interact with the artworks actively, understand them, become attached, take time genuinely to look at them, and to become a viewer.

 

Curator: Eva Wittocx

 

This exhibition is a co-production of M and La Ferme du Buisson.

Béatrice Balcou

Bio

Béatrice Balcou

Bio

Béatrice Balcou (1976, Tréguier, France) lives and works in Brussels. Her recent solo and dual exhibitions include L’Économie des apostrophes at La Ferme du Buisson Centre for Contemporary Art in Noisiel (2018), Béatrice Balcou x Yuki Okumura: double suicide at Kumagusuku at Kyoto Art Hostel kumagusuku in Kyoto (2018); Kazuko Miyamoto >< Béatrice Balcou at Exile gallery in Berlin (2017) and at L’Iselp in Brussels (2016); Walk in Beauty at Casino Luxembourg Contemporary Art Forum (2014); Calme, luxe et volupté at Le Quartier Centre for Contemporary Art in Quimper (2014); and Chaque chose en son temps at FRAC Franche-Comté in Besançon (2013). Over the last few years her works have been featured in numerous group shows including Article 132-75 at Kunsteverein, Langenhagen (2019), Sculpter (faire à l’atelier) at FRAC Bretagne, Rennes (2018), Tes Mains dans mes chaussures at La Galerie Contemporary Art Center, Noisy-le-Sec (2017), Un-Scene III at WIELS, Brussels (2015), Plateforme de jeux at Centre Pompidou, Paris (2015) and Des choses en plus, des choses en moins at Palais de Tokyo, Paris (2014). In 2018, she was laureate, with Yuki Okumura, of the French Institute’s residency at Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto, Japan. The works of Béatrice Balcou are part of the collections of FNAC Fonds National d’Art Contemporain, Paris; FRAC Corse, Corte; FRAC Franche-Comté, Besançon and FRAC Ile-de-France, Paris.

Béatrice Balcou

20.09.2019 - 26.01.2020
Achetez votre ticket

Par ses performances, sculptures, dessins et installations, l’artiste française Béatrice Balcou nous offre de nouveaux rituels sensoriels et émotionnels qui exigent de nous une disponibilité absolue pour l’art.

Prendre le temps

Balcou copie les œuvres  d’autres artistes et assume pour ainsi dire le rôle de « manutentionnaire » et « régisseur » d’art. C’est ainsi qu’elle met radicalement en question notre rapport à l’art et à la façon  dont celui-ci est produit. Pour Balcou, l’œuvre d’art n’est pas une image éphémère à identifier ou consommer rapidement. Ce qui est essentiel pour elle, c’est la façon dont nous voyons les choses, le temps que nous prenons pour le faire et ce que nous retirons de ce processus du regard. 

Activation, interaction

Pour cette exposition au Musée M, Balcou regroupe plusieurs séries d’œuvres: une série de sculptures « placebo » et « assistantes », des cérémonies filmées, des dessins ainsi que des œuvres qui seront activées dans l’espace. Ces installations, spatiales et éphémères, nous incitent à une approche active des œuvres, nous invitent à les comprendre, à nous y attacher, à prendre le temps de leur accorder un vrai regard et à devenir spectateur .

Commissaire d'exposition : Eva Wittocx

 

Cette exposition est une coproduction de M et La Ferme du Buisson, avec le soutien de l'ADAGP et la copie privée. 

Béatrice Balcou

Bio

Béatrice Balcou

Bio

Béatrice Balcou (née en1976 à Tréguier, France) vit et travaille à  Bruxelles. Ses récentes exposition en solo et duo sont: L’Économie des apostrophes au Centre d’art contemporain La Ferme du Buisson à Noisiel (2018), Béatrice Balcou x Yuki Okumura: double suicide at Kumagusuku au Kyoto Art Hostel Kumagusuku à Kyoto (2018); Kazuko Miyamoto >< Béatrice Balcou à la galerie Exile à Berlin (2017) et l’Iselp à Bruxelles (2016); Walk in Beauty au Casino Luxembourg - Forum d’art contemporain (2014); Calme, luxe et volupté au Centre d’art contemporain Le Quartier à Quimper (2014) ainsi que Chaque chose en son temps au FRAC Franche-Comté à Besançon (2013). Au cours de ces dernières années, on a pu voir ses oeuvres lors de différentes expositions collectives,  parmi lesquelles Article 132-75 au Kunstverein, Langenhagen (2019), Sculpter (faire à l’atelier) au FRAC Bretagne à Rennes (2018), Tes Mains dans mes chaussures à La Galerie Centre d’Art Contemporain à Noisy-le-Sec (2017), Un-Scene III au WIELS à Bruxelles (2015), Plateforme de jeux au Centre Pompidou à Paris (2015) ainsi que Des choses en plus, des choses en moins au Palais de Tokyo à Paris (2014). En 2018, Béatrice Balcou - conjointement avec Yuki Okumura- a été parmi les lauréats de la résidence organisée par l’Institut Français à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto, Japon. Ses oeuvres font partie des collections du FNAC Fonds National d’Art Contemporain à Paris, du FRAC Corse à Corte, du FRAC Franche-Comté à Besançon et du FRAC Ile-de-France à Paris.