Ericka Beckman

Ericka Beckman

09.10.2020 - 07.02.2021

Because your well-being and that of our staff is always our first priority, as of 29.10 M and St Peter's Church will not be open to the public until further notice.⁣

 

Even though we cannot invite you to visit our museum right now, we will continue to do everything to bring our museum to you.

Fair Game

A world ruled by structures and systems where performance is key, optimisation forms a constant preoccupation and gamification is used as a means to drive up participation… All these properties defining society today were first explored by Ericka Beckman in her films in the early 1980s, long before the introduction of social media and virtual interaction.

World premiere

At M, the American artist presents her multimedia installation ‘Nanotech Players’ (1989), her first 16 mm film ‘You The Better’ (1983), and her new film ‘Reach Capacity’ (2020), shown in world premiere on a rotating screen. The two films share the use of game as a structuring device, popular culture imagery, and a commentary on capitalism and real estate. Is it at all possible to stand up against the ruling system?

 

Alongside this political comment, Beckman intends to provoke a bodily response. The physical activity on screen contributes to engage the audience, as do the easily identifiable objects and the restricted set of bright colours. The props displayed in the gallery blur the boundaries, turning two-dimensional viewing into a three-dimensional experience. While this is how the artist has always envisaged the presentation of her work, it is only recently that technology and a shift in curatorial practices have made this display possible, freeing her films from the screening room and bringing them to life as installations.

 

Curator: Valerie Verhack

 

With the support of Philip Martin Gallery (Los Angeles)

 

This exhibition will travel on to Kestner Gesellschaft (Hannover), where it will be presented from 25.06.21 until 12.09.21.

Online opening

Due to Covid-19 there was no physical opening event. Instead, M opened the exhibition with a livestream on Facebook on Thursday evening 15.10.

PREPARE YOUR VISIT

Accompanying information: online and offline

To limit the spread of the coronavirus we currently do not provide paper folders. As an alternative, you can find all information on this page. Explanatory texts are also provided on the walls in the museum halls and audio guides continue to be available and are disinfected between each use.

Ericka Beckman

BIO

Ericka Beckman

BIO

Ericka Beckman (°1951, New York) lives and works in New York City and Boston. The artist attended the California Institute of the Arts (MFA, 1976), collaborating with peers such as Mike Kelley. Recent solo shows include Ericka Beckman: Double Reverse at MIT List Visual Arts Center (Cambridge, Massachusetts, 2019), and Ericka Beckman. Game Mechanics at Secession (Vienna, 2017). Over her three-decade career, Beckman has participated in numerous group exhibitions, amongst which the groundbreaking 2009 show The Pictures Generation, 1974-1984 at The Met (New York). Her work can be found in many public and private collections, including The Met (New York), MoMA (New York) and Centre Pompidou (Paris). Ericka Beckman is represented by Philip Martin Gallery (Los Angeles).

Ericka Beckman

Ericka Beckman

09.10.2020 - 07.02.2021

Parce que votre santé et celle de nos collaborateurs ont toujours priorité, M et la collégiale Saint-Pierre n’accueillera temporairement pas de visiteurs à partir du 29.10.

 

Même si nous ne pouvons pas vous inviter au musée pendant un certain temps, nous tenons à tout mettre en œuvre pour virtuellement porter l’art jusque chez vous !

Fair Game

Un monde défini par des structures et des systèmes où la performance règne, où l’optimalisation fait l’objet d’une constante préoccupation et où la gamification est utilisée comme moyen pour stimuler la participation… Toutes ces propriétés caractéristiques de la société d’aujourd’hui ont déjà été explorées par Ericka Beckman dans ses films au début des années 1980, bien avant l’introduction des réseaux sociaux et de l’interaction virtuelle.

Première mondiale

Au M, l’artiste américaine présente son installation multimédia ‘Nanotech Players’ (1989), son premier film 16 mm ‘You The Better’ (1983) et, en première mondiale, son nouveau film ‘Reach Capacity’ (2020) sur un écran rotatif. Les deux films ont en commun l’utilisation du jeu comme dispositif de structuration, l’iconographie de la culture populaire, et un commentaire sur le capitalisme, et plus spécifiquement la spéculation immobilière. Ils suscitent une même question : peut-on triompher d’un système dominant?

 

Parallèlement à ce commentaire politique, Beckman entend provoquer une réponse corporelle. L’activité physique à l’écran contribue à engager le public, tout comme les objets facilement identifiables et la palette restreinte de couleurs vives. Les accessoires exposés dans la salle d’exposition brouillent les limites, transformant le visionnage en une expérience tridimensionnelle. Si l’artiste a toujours envisagé la présentation de son œuvre de la sorte, ce n’est que récemment que la technologie et un changement des pratiques curatoriales ont rendu ce dispositif possible, libérant ses films de la salle de projection et leur insufflant vie sous forme d’installations.

 

Commissaire : Valerie Verhack

 

Avec le soutien de Philip Martin Gallery (Los Angeles)

 

Cette exposition sera ensuite présentée à Kestner Gesellschaft (Hanovre) du 25.06.21 au 12.09.21.

Ouverture en ligne

À cause de Covid-19, il n'y a pas eu d'événement d'ouverture au musée. À la place, M a ouvert l'exposition avec un livestream sur Facebook le jeudi 15.10.

PRÉPAREZ VOTRE VISITE

Informations sur les expositions: en ligne et hors ligne

Pour limiter la propagation du coronavirus, nous ne proposons actuellement pas de documents papier. Alternativement, vous trouverez toutes les informations sur cette page. Des textes explicatifs seront apposés sur les murs des salles et des audioguides sont disponibles et seront désinfectés entre chaque usage. 

Ericka Beckman

BIO

Ericka Beckman

BIO

Ericka Beckman (°1951, New York) travaille et habite à New York City et Boston. L’artiste a étudié au California Institute of the Arts (MFA, 1976), y collaborant avec d’autres artistes comme Mike Kelley. Parmi ses expositions monographiques récentes, nous pouvons citer Ericka Beckman: Double Reverse au MIT List Visual Arts Center (Cambridge, Massachusetts, 2019) et Ericka Beckman. Game Mechanics à Secession (Vienne, 2017). Durant sa carrière s’étendant sur trois décennies, Beckman a participé à de nombreuses expositions de groupe, comme l’importante exposition The Pictures Generation, 1974-1984 à The Met (New York). On retrouve son œuvre dans de nombreuses collections publiques et privées, dont The Met (New York), MoMA (New York) et le Centre Pompidou (Paris). Ericka Beckman est représentée par Philip Martin Gallery (Los Angeles).