Dieric Bouts

The odd one out among the Flemish Primitives

Dieric Bouts (ca. 1410-1475) was one of the most important Flemish Primitives. The Dutch painter moved to Leuven and married the affluent Catharina Van der Brugghen in 1448. He remained in Leuven until his death. While in Leuven, he painted The Last Supper and The Martyrdom of Saint Erasmus, two of Bouts’ most important works. 

Bouts is considered the odd one out among the Flemish Primitives because he consistently avoided any dramatism in his works. Due to his typical style of painting, which exudes an atmosphere of restraint, he was often called ‘the painter of silence’.

In 1472, Bouts was appointed town painter of Leuven, an honorary title. His wife died in 1473, and he remarried a year later. Bouts himself died in 1475, and he was buried beside his first wife in the Franciscan church in Leuven. Both his sons, Dieric and Albrecht, continued their father’s artistic tradition into the 16th century.

Read more about two of Bouts’ most important works

Dirk Bouts

The Last Supper

Dirk Bouts

The Martyrdom of Saint Erasmus

Peintre du silence

Dirk Bouts

Un Primitif flamand un peu à part

Dirk Bouts (± 1410-1475) est un des plus célèbres Primitifs flamands. Originaire des Pays-Bas, le peintre s’installe à Louvain et y épouse en 1448 la fortunée Catharina Van der Brugghen. Il restera à Louvain jusqu’à sa mort. C’est également à Louvain que verront le jour deux des œuvres majeures de Dirk Bouts : la Cène et le Martyre de saint Érasme

Dirk Bouts est considéré comme un cas un peu à part dans le mouvement des Primitifs flamands étant donné qu’il s’obstinait à éviter toute dimension dramatique dans ses œuvres. Son style caractéristique, tout en retenue, a valu à Dirk Bouts le surnom de Peintre du silence. 

En 1472, Dirk Bouts reçoit le titre honorifique de peintre de la ville de Louvain. Son épouse décède en 1473 et l’artiste de remarie un an plus tard. Dirk Bouts meurt à son tour en 1475 et est enterré aux côtés de sa première épouse, dans l’église des Minimes à Louvain. Ses deux fils, Dieric et Albrecht, vont perpétuer la tradition artistique de leur père jusqu’au 16e siècle.

Plus d’infos sur deux des œuvres majeures de Dirk Bouts

Dirk Bouts

La Cène

Dirk Bouts

Le Martyre de saint Érasme