Dirk Braeckman

06.10.2011 - 08.01.2012

Dirk Braeckman in M

In each of his monumental photographic works, Dirk Braeckman (Eeklo, °1958) creates an enclosed, isolated world that nevertheless appears, as a result of its tactility, to be infinite and gives short shrift to the illusions of the photographic medium. These images do not intend to tell a story and yet they are suggestive of complete narratives. His photos leave the moment of the shot far behind and reach beyond their frames.

Dirk Braeckman began his career as a (self) portrait photographer, but later consciously turned away from portrait photography. Braeckman finds the subjects for his photographic works in his immediate environment and he has a preference for places or spaces, particularly interiors. The undertone of his work thus remains autobiographical.

 

In his monumental photographic works, he creates an enclosed and isolated world. Braeckman’s images are neither clinically observational nor anecdotal. The images stand alone. The tactility of his work is highly unusual for the photographic medium and gives short shrift to the illusions of the medium. We see the different textures, materials and holders the artist experiments with.

He investigates effects such as over- and under-exposure and printing methods. For many years, Dirk Braeckman worked only with analogue photography that he developed himself in his darkroom. Recently, he has started exploring the digital medium. This new method introduced new subjects into his work, such as close-ups of landscapes.

 

Dirk Braeckman is one of the most prominent Belgian artists of the moment. He has exhibited his works in various solo and group exhibitions both nationally and internationally.

 

The exhibition at M presents a selective overview of his extensive oeuvre from the past 25 years and juxtaposes it with a number of new, digital photos.

Publication

P.E.-N.H.-11
2011
Silver bromide print on matt baryta paper
Edition of 50
30 x 40 cm
Sold out


€290.00

Dirk Braeckman

06.10.2011 - 08.01.2012

Dirk Braeckman à M

Dirk Braeckman (Eeklo, °1958) crée dans chacune de ses œuvres photographiques monumentales un monde clos, isolé, qui semble pourtant infini dans sa tactilité et balaye d’un mouvement les illusions de la photographie. Ces images ne veulent rien raconter et toutefois, elles suggèrent des histoires complètes. Ses photos laissent derrière elles le moment de la prise et dépassent leur cadre.

Dirk Braeckman a commencé sa carrière comme photographe de portraits et d’autoportraits, mais s’en est sciemment détourné. Il trouve les sujets de son œuvre photographique dans son environnement immédiat. Ce sont souvent des lieux ou des espaces, de préférences des vues intérieures. Son œuvre garde ainsi une touche autobiographique.

 

Il crée dans ses œuvres photographiques monumentales un univers fermé et isolé. Les images de Braeckman ne révèlent aucune observation clinique et l’anecdotique ne l’intéresse pas. L’image existe en soi. La tactilité dont témoigne son travail artistique est singulière pour la photographie et balaye les illusions propres au médium. Ce que nous regardons, c’est les textures, les matériaux et les divers supports auxquels s’essaye l’artiste.

Il explore les effets comme la surexposition et la sous-exposition et les modes de tirage. Dirk Braeckman a travaillé longtemps avec la photographie analogique uniquement et faisait lui-même ses tirages dans sa chambre noire. Il explore depuis quelques années la photographie numérique et cette nouvelle méthode de travail introduit des sujets nouveaux dans son travail artistique, comme les gros plans de paysages.

 

Dirk Braeckman est un des artistes d’avant-garde belges du moment. Il a participé à diverses expositions en solo et de groupe en Belgique et à l’étranger.

 

L’exposition au M offre une rétrospective sélective de 25 ans de travail créatif, et le met en dialogue avec un certain nombre de ses œuvres photographiques numériques nouvelles.

Publication

P.E.-N.H.-11
2011
Tirage au gélatino-bromure d'argent sur papier baryté mat
Tirage de 50
30 x 40 cm
Epuisé


€290.00