Eija-Liisa Ahtila

18.05.2018 - 16.09.2018
Buy your ticket

Eija-Liisa Ahtila (°1959, Finland) is a contemporary visual artist and filmmaker. She has long been considered a master of the cinematic installation form. Her work is conceptually organized around the construction of image, language, narrative, and space, and she has often probed individual identity and the boundaries of the subject in relation to the external world. 

A powerfull visual language

Using the visual language of cinema, Ahtila presents large-scale installations with multiple channel projections on multiple screen constructions. These viewing conditions, with their simultaneously charged vantage points, break the tradition of cinematic perspective and construct an experience of several co-existing times and spaces for being.

 

From human drama's to the ecological crisis

Eija-Liisa Ahtila experiments with narrative storytelling in her cinematic installations and films. In her earlier works, she has dealt with the unsettling human dramas at the centre of personal relationships – teenage sexuality, family relations, mental disintegration and death. Her later works deal with profound and basic artistic questions where she investigates the processes of perception and attribution of meaning, at times in the light of larger cultural and existential thematics like colonialism, faith and posthumanism.

The artist encourages us to explore how the anthropocentric medium of film might enable us to narrate the very life of the planet as well as our own. The starting point for many of her recent works and research has for instance been the eco-cinematic question: how and with what kind of technology, drama and expressive devices can we build the image of our world in this present moment of ecological crisis?

A retrospective tailored to M

This exhibition offers a survey of Ahtila’s practice through seven film installations made between 2001 and 2018 and a series of drawings. Each of the works has been redesigned for its specific presentation at M.

The production of Potentiality for Love, Athila's most recent work, was made possible in part with M Museum’s support.

Curator: Eva Wittocx
With the support of the Finnish embassy in Belgium

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

BIO

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

BIO

Eija-Liisa Ahtila has studied at the University of California, Los Angeles; the American Film Institute, Los Angeles; the London College of Printing and the University of Helsinki. Her works have been exhibited widely in solo shows, for example at: Tate Modern, London (2002); The Museum of Modern Art, New York (2006); Moderna Museet, Stockholm (2012); Jeu de Paume, Paris (2008); Neu National Gallery, Berlin (2000). Eija-Liisa Ahtila has also participated in numerous international art exhibitions such as the Venice Biennale (2005 and 1999); Documenta 11 (2002) and the Sydney Biennial (2018 and 2002). Her films and retrospectives have been screened in many major festivals including Berlin, Sundance, Venice and Rotterdam, among others. In Belgium her works have been exhibited at Contour(2009) en at S.M.A.K. (2010). This exhibition in M is her first solo exhibition in Belgium.


http://crystaleye.fi/eija-liisa_ahtila

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

18.05.2018 - 16.09.2018
Achetez votre ticket

Eija-Liisa Ahtila (°1959, Finlande) est l’une des plus importantes parmi les cinéastes d’aujourd’hui et se spécialise dans la création et la projection de films sous forme d’installations. Dans son travail, elle associe image, langue, récit et espace, tout en explorant la frontière entre l’identité individuelle et le monde extérieur.

Un langage visuel d’une grande force

Puisant dans le langage visuel du cinéma, Ahtila présente des installations de grandes dimensions consistant souvent en différentes projections sur plusieurs écrans. Cette configuration visuelle offre au spectateur plusieurs points de vue simultanés et, ce faisant, brise la tradition de la perspective cinématographique linéaire. C’est ainsi qu’il devient possible de faire l’expérience de la coexistence de différents temps et espaces.

Du drame humain à la crise écologique

Eija-Liisa Ahtila explore dans ses installations cinématographiques des façons de raconter des histoires. Dans ses premières œuvres, c’est l’identité individuelle qui occupait une position centrale, alors que la réalisatrice se penchait sur des drames humains troublants, tels que les rapports familiaux difficiles, les troubles mentaux et la mort. Ses œuvres plus tardives la voient traiter des questions artistiques profondes et essentielles, et explorer les mécanismes de la perception et la signification. Ceci se fait souvent à la lumière d’importantes questions culturelles et existentielles, comme le colonialisme, la foi et le post-humanisme. 

C’est ainsi que l’artiste nous encourage dans ses œuvres les plus récentes à examiner comment le média anthropocentrique qu’est le cinéma pourrait nous mettre à même de conter le récit de notre existence et celui de notre planète. Le point de départ de bonne part de ses travaux et de ses recherches récentes est la question de savoir comment et moyennant quelle technologie nous serions en état de comprendre le monde, de créer et de faire fonction de médiateurs dans notre époque de crise écologique.

Un tour d’horizon à la mesure de M

La présente exposition offre une vue d’ensemble de la pratique d’Ahtila par le biais d’une série de dessins ainsi que de sept monumentales installations cinématographiques réalisées entre 2001 et 2018. Chacune de ces œuvres a été présentée et adaptée en tenant compte des dimensions des salles du Musée M.

La production de Potentiality for Love, l’œuvre la plus récente d’Ahtila, a pu être réalisée avec le soutien de M, parmi d’autres.

Commissaire : Eva Wittocx
Avec le soutien de l’ambassade de Finlande en Belgique

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

BIO

Eija-Liisa Ahtila

BIO

Eija-Liisa Ahtila a étudié à l’Université de Californie à Los Angeles, à l’American Film Institute à Los Angeles, au London College of Printing ainsi qu’à l’Université d’Helsinki. Ses œuvres ont été montrées lors de nombreuses expositions personnelles dans des lieux tels que la Tate Modern à Londres (2002), le MoMa à New York (2006), le Moderna Museet à Stockholm (2012), le musée du Jeu de Paume à Paris (2008) et la Neue Nationalgalerie à Berlin (2000). Eija-Liisa Ahtila a également participé à bon nombre d’expositions d’importance internationale telles que la Biennale de Venise (1999 et 2005), la Documenta 11 (2002) ainsi que la Biennale de Sydney (2002 et 2018). Ses films et rétrospectives ont été montrés lors de nombreux grands festivals, comme à Berlin, Sundance, Venise et Rotterdam. En Belgique, on a déjà pu voir des œuvres d’Eija-Liisa Ahtila lors de Contour (2009) et au S.M.A.K. (2010). L’exposition à M est sa première exposition individuelle en Belgique.


http://crystaleye.fi/eija-liisa_ahtila