Open M 2022

Exhibition

Open M

06.05.2022 - 28.08.2022
Buy a ticket

Time and Again

With Open M, M gives visual artists the opportunity to show their work in our museum galleries. With this initiative, M focuses on artists with a link to Flemish Brabant or Leuven. This edition’s theme is transhistoricity.* Curator Melanie Bühler (Frans Hals Museum, the Netherlands) made a selection from the 370 proposals submitted. This selection will be shown by M from 6 May 2022 in a group exhibition.

 

We open this exhibition with a vernissage on Thursday 5 May from 8 pm. For this occasion, admission to M is free and no registration is required.

The artists

Curator Melanie Bühler selected twelve artists for Open M 2022.

 

Daniël Bellon (1976), Paul Bogaert (1968) en Jan Peeters (1978), Ralph Collier (1990), Josefien Cornette (1994), Alexandra Crouwers (1974), Joke De Pever (1993), Laurence Durieu (1972), Bram Rinkel (1996), Witold Vandenbroeck (1994), Danny Vandeput (1974), Jean-Luc van IJperen (1981), Muriel Verbist (1971).

Exhibition ‘Time and again’

It is 2022 and times have changed. After two years of a global pandemic and the uncertainty that came with it, many of us have lost the daily rhythm of our lives. The routines that until now had structured our days, our seasons, our years were suddenly no longer there. Time feels different: warped, stretched, and at the same time accelerated.

 

The selected works in this edition of Open M deal with the concept and perception of time. This exhibition brings together a selection of artworks that reflect on how different periods of time come together: how the past breaks the present, how the present feels like the past and how time can be experienced differently, beyond the rigidity of the clock and the chronology of history books.

Bringing art from the past and from today together

Open M takes place every two years and each time has a different focus. In this edition of Open M, everything revolves around transhistoricity.* M is a museum that brings together and confronts art from the past and present in new ways. This creates new, surprising links between the past and the present.

 

With their work, each artist is part of a long visual tradition and thus place themselves in (art) history. M wants to inspire artists to think transhistorically, to react to existing works of art, to enter into dialogue with artists who stimulate them and to challenge art-historical traditions and media.

Open call

Through an open call, artists with a link to Flemish Brabant or Leuven were invited to submit their work for a group exhibition. This time, M received 370 applications.

 

The call has now been closed, it ended at midnight on Sunday 16 January 2022.

Frequently Asked Questions

*Um... the transhistoricity theme?

It is a concept that we perhaps do not use everyday. In short, it means that art from the past and present are brought together. But there is of course more to it than that. Read the article in M magazine where Peter Carpreau, Head of Department for Ancient Art, elaborates on the theme.

 

Who is the curator Melanie Bühler?

Melanie Bühler (Switzerland, 1983) curates this sixth edition of Open M. Bühler is an curator and writer based in Amsterdam. Since January 2018, she has worked as a curator of Contemporary Art at the Frans Hals Museum, Haarlem (Netherlands). She collaborated on the publication 'The Transhistorical Museum’ (2018) that M Leuven and Frans Hals Museum published together. She was responsible for, among others, the transhistorical exhibitions 'Ruis! Frans Hals, Anders' (2018) and 'Image Power' (2020) in the Frans Hals Museum.

 

What is the Frans Hals Museum?

The Frans Hals Museum is the art museum of the city of Haarlem in the Netherlands. With a tantalizing mix of old, modern and contemporary art, the Frans Hals Museum challenges you to look differently and see more. The museum brings together phenomena and ideas, combines pixels with brushstrokes and asks critical questions, sometimes even of itself. It reflects on the existing collection and makes new work by artists possible. In this way, we want to surprise you, offer new perspectives and, above all, show you more.

 

Why does Open M work with a curator from the Frans Hals Museum in the Netherlands?

Like M, the Frans Hals Museum is a transhistorical museum. But there is more because M and the Frans Hals Museum have worked together before. Together, the two museums published 'The Transhistorical Museum’ (2018). In addition, the two museums also organised a lecture series around this theme in which Melanie Bühler also participated. With this international and impartial view, we want to make the best selection for Open M.

Also interesting for you

Exhibition

Wael Shawky

Exhibition

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Collection presentation

Take your Time

Open M 2022

Exposition

Open M

06.05.2022 - 28.08.2022
Achetez un ticket

Time and Again

En organisant Open M, M offre l'occasion à des plasticiens d'exposer leurs œuvres dans les salles du musée. Cette initiative s'adresse à des artistes qui ont des liens avec le Brabant flamand ou Louvain. L'édition de cette année s'articule autour de la thématique de la transhistoricité. Parmi les 370 propositions reçues, la commissaire d'exposition Melanie Bühler, du Musée Frans Hals aux Pays-Bas, a effectué une sélection d'œuvres que M présente dans une exposition de groupe à partir du 06.05.2022.

 

Le jeudi 05.05 à 20 heures a lieu le vernissage de l'exposition. L'accès au M est gratuit à cette occasion, aucune inscription n'est nécessaire.

Les artistes

La commissaire Melanie Bühler a sélectionné 13 artistes pour Open M 2022 :

 

Daniël Bellon (1976), Paul Bogaert (1968) et Jan Peeters (1978), Ralph Collier (1990), Josefien Cornette (1994), Alexandra Crouwers (1974), Joke De Pever (1993), Laurence Durieu (1972), Bram Rinkel (1996), Witold Vandenbroeck (1994), Danny Vandeput (1974), Jean-Luc van IJperen (1981), Muriel Verbist (1971).

L'exposition 'Time and Again'

Aujourd'hui, en 2022, le concept de « temps » a changé. Après deux années de pandémie mondiale et la profonde incertitude qui l'entourait, nous sommes nombreux à avoir perdu tout sens du rythme naturel. Tout à coup, la routine qui jusque-là structurait nos journées, nos saisons, nos années, a été suspendue. Désormais le temps semble différent, déformé, à la fois étiré et accéléré.

 

Les œuvres sélectionnées pour cette édition d'Open M évoquent le temps en tant que concept et sa perception. L'exposition réunit une sélection d'œuvres d'art proposant une réflexion sur la rencontre de différentes époques, sur la manière dont le passé disloque le présent ou le présent est ressenti comme un passé, et sur un autre vécu temporel possible, au-delà de la rigidité des horloges et la chronologie des livres d'histoire.

Associer l'art d'hier et d'aujourd'hui

L'initiative bisannuelle Open M manie à chaque édition une thématique différente. Cette fois-ci, il s'agit de la transhistoricité. M est en effet un musée qui associe étroitement, de diverses manières inédites, l'art d'hier et d'aujourd'hui et les confronte l'un à l'autre. Ainsi se créent des rapports nouveaux et inattendus entre le présent et le passé.

 

Tout artiste et son travail appartiennent à une longue tradition picturale et s'inscrivent de ce fait dans l'histoire (de l'art). M veut inspirer les artistes à adopter une approche transhistorique, c'est-à-dire à réagir à des œuvres d'art existantes, à entrer en dialogue avec des artistes qui les inspirent et à remettre en question les traditions artistiques et les moyens d'expression courants.

Appel ouvert à candidatures

Par le biais d'un appel ouvert à candidatures, les artistes qui ont des liens avec le Brabant flamand ou avec Louvain ont été invités à soumettre leurs œuvres en vue d'une exposition de groupe. Pour cette édition, M a reçu 370 dossiers.

 

L'appel à candidatures a été clôturé le dimanche 16.01.2022 à 23h59.

Foire aux questions

*Euh… la thématique est la transhistoricité ?

Cette expression n'appartient pas vraiment au vocabulaire de tous les jours. En bref, elle désigne l'association de l'art d'autrefois et de celui d'aujourd'hui. Mais son sens est évidemment bien plus complexe. Pour en savoir plus, lisez l'article du magazine du M où Peter Carpreau, responsable du département d'Art ancien, l'explique en détail.

 

Qui est la commissaire Melanie Bühler?

Melanie Bühler (née en Suisse en 1983) est la commissaire de cette sixième édition d'Open M. Également auteure, elle vit à Amsterdam. Depuis janvier 2018, elle travaille comme conservatrice en Art contemporain au Musée Frans Hals à Haarlem, aux Pays-Bas. Elle a collaboré à une publication conjointe du M Leuven et du Musée Frans Hals, « The Transhistorical Museum » (2018). Au Musée Frans Hals, elle a entre autres monté les expositions transhistoriques « Ruis! Frans Hals, Anders »’ (2018) et « Beeldmacht » (2020).

 

Qu'est le Musée Frans Hals ?

Le Musée Frans Hals est le musée d'art de la ville néerlandaise de Haarlem. En proposant un mélange inspirant d'art ancien, moderne et contemporain, le Musée Frans Hals vous invite à regarder autrement et à voir davantage. Le musée associe divers phénomènes et diverses idées, combine les pixels et les coups de pinceau, pose des questions critiques – et se les pose aussi. Il mène une réflexion sur la collection existante et rend possible la création de nouvelles œuvres. Nous voulons ainsi vous surprendre, vous ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives et, surtout, vous aider à élargir votre regard.

 

Pourquoi l'initiative Open M fait-elle appel à une conservatrice du Musée Frans Hals, qui se trouve aux Pays-Bas ?

Tout comme M, le Musée Frans Hals est un musée transhistorique. Mais ce n'est pas l'unique raison. M et le Musée Frans Hals ont déjà collaboré par le passé. Ensemble, ils ont sorti en 2018 la publication « The Transhistorical Museum ». Parallèlement, les deux musées ont aussi organisé une série de conférences sur ce thème, à laquelle Melanie Bühler a également contribué. Nous voulons obtenir la meilleure sélection d'œuvres pour Open M grâce à son regard cosmopolite et impartial.

Aussi intéressant pour vous

Exposition

Wael Shawky

Exposition

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Présentation de collection

Prenez votre Temps