Playground 2021

M and STUK present:

Fifteenth edition of the arts festival Playground

11.11.2021 - 14.11.2021
Buy tickets

For this fifteenth edition, Playground once again offers a platform to artists who are not bound to one discipline, but work on the interface between stage and visual arts. Playground is a sanctuary for experimentation, where installation, film, architecture, sculpture and choreography merge into continuous installations and live activations. In this programme, the codes of different spaces are challenged.

In M, Alice Van der Wielen-Honinckx focuses on de-stressing: on a slowly rotating platform, three performers investigate what can happen if you stop wanting to do too much. Violaine Lochu tours the museum with a choir in which gender and feeling related are central. For Skinscapes, Nefeli Papadimouli investigates dependency within social and natural structures. Connecting is key. Marijke De Roover and Helen Anna Flanagan explore trauma and collectivity in an installation that will be activated at certain times.

 

M is also hosting a solo exhibition by Alexis Gautier, simultaneously with Playground. The artist invites different people to be protagonists and co-authors of the exhibition's script. During Playground, he will lead several storytelling tours around his exhibition (initially planned in a car, a setting that has changed due to the recent Covid surge), and reveal “Pocket Works” to visitors at moments of his choice, acting as a museum attendant in the M galleries.

 

In the Forum, you can enjoy a film programme compiled by María Inés Rodríguez. In four video works, artists reflect on communities in constant transition. Under the pressure of critical circumstances, they are forced to come up with new forms of solidarity.

A selection from the range

VIOLAINE LOCHU

EDEN/B4

VIOLAINE LOCHU

EDEN/B4

In Eden/B4, research into the choir, gender and the sense of being related are central. Where traditional choral groups divide according to gender and age, Eden/B4 explore the composition of an 'Adelphe' choir. The queer term Adelphe refers to a brotherhood or sisterhood without reference to gender. Four singers go in search of the genderless voice and body in the collection rooms of M.

ALICE VAN DER WIELEN-HONINCKX

CREATURES AT REST

ALICE VAN DER WIELEN-HONINCKX

CREATURES AT REST

On a slowly rotating platform, three performers explore what 'just being there' can mean. This 'being' is, of course, not that simple. Nor is it purely passive. In an intimate and vulnerable quest for rest, daydreaming, and perhaps even sleep, they seek an embodied presence that stems from a paradoxically active intention to 'do nothing'.

MARIJKE DE ROOVER & HELEN ANNA FLANAGAN

AND THEN SHE SAID, “YOU HAVE A FUTURE, BUT IT LOOKS A LOT LIKE YOUR PAST”, 2021

MARIJKE DE ROOVER & HELEN ANNA FLANAGAN

AND THEN SHE SAID, “YOU HAVE A FUTURE, BUT IT LOOKS A LOT LIKE YOUR PAST”, 2021

This collaborative project by Helen Anna Flanagan and Marijke De Roover is a way of deconstructing conventional writing, claiming space and allowing feminist voices to emerge as an ecstatic flow of words.

NEFELI PAPADIMOULI

SKINSCAPES

NEFELI PAPADIMOULI

SKINSCAPES

Nefeli Papadimouli's work explores dependency within social and natural structures. Connecting is key. Papadimouli's installations are inclusive meeting spaces in which she explores how people come together. In M's tower room, Nefeli Papadimouli presents large works in textiles that at a given point are worn by the performers.

Playground 2021

M et STUK vous présentez :

15e édition du festival artistique Playground

11.11.2021 - 14.11.2021
Achetez des billets

Lors de cette quinzième édition, Playground accueille une fois de plus des artistes qui ne se limitent pas à une discipline unique, mais travaillent à la croisée des arts de la scène et des arts plastiques. Playground est un havre d'expérimentation où des installations et des films, l'architecture, la sculpture et la chorégraphie fusionnent pour former des installations, tant continues qu'activées ponctuellement. Le programme du festival défie les codes de différents espaces.

Au M, Alice Van der Wielen-Honinckx s'intéresse au lâcher-prise : sur une plateforme en lente rotation, trois interprètes examinent ce qu'il peut se passer quand on arrête de vouloir en faire trop. Violaine Lochu sillonne le musée en compagnie d'une chorale placée sous le signe du genre et du sentiment d'attachement. Pour Skinscapes, Nefeli Papadimouli étudie l'interdépendance au sein de structures sociales et naturelles, où priment les liens mutuels. Marijke De Roover et Helen Anna Flanagan consacrent une installation, activée par moments, aux traumatismes et à la collectivité.

 

Parallèlement à Playground a lieu au M une exposition solo d'Alexis Gautier. L’artiste invite différentes personnes à être protagonistes et co-auteurs de la narration de son exposition. Pendant Playground, il guidera les visiteurs à travers des histoires. Initialement, celles-ci allaient être racontées dans une voiture, un cadre qui a été substitué pour celui de sa salle d’exposition au vu des développements Covid. Outre ces visites, Alexis Gautier révélera aussi ses « Pocket Works » aux visiteurs à des moments de son choix, lorsqu’il investira le musée comme médiateur.

 

Au Forum vous est proposé un programme vidéo composé par María Inés Rodríguez. Dans quatre vidéos, des artistes lancent une réflexion sur des communautés en transition constante. Sous la pression de circonstances critiques, elles sont obligées de concevoir de nouvelles formes de solidarité.

Un échantillon du programme

VIOLAINE LOCHU

EDEN/B4

VIOLAINE LOCHU

EDEN/B4

Eden/B4 s'articule autour d'une recherche sur la chorale, le genre et le sentiment d'attachement. Alors que les chorales traditionnelles regroupent les membres selon leur genre et leur âge, Eden/B4 examine la composition d'une chorale de type « adelphe ». Cette expression de l'univers queer désigne la sororité ou la fraternité sans référence au genre. Dans les salles où sont exposées les collections du M, quatre chanteurs partent à la recherche de la voix et du corps dénués de genre.

ALICE VAN DER WIELEN-HONINCKX

CREATURES AT REST

ALICE VAN DER WIELEN-HONINCKX

CREATURES AT REST

Trois interprètes juchés sur une plateforme en lente rotation examinent ce que pourrait signifier « être là, tout simplement ». Mais bien évidemment, « être » n'est pas si simple. Ni purement passif, d'ailleurs. Au cours d'une quête, intimiste et vulnérable, de quiétude, de rêves éveillés et peut-être même de sommeil, ils sondent une présence corporelle résultant de la décision paradoxalement active de « ne rien faire ».

MARIJKE DE ROOVER & HELEN ANNA FLANAGAN

AND THEN SHE SAID, “YOU HAVE A FUTURE, BUT IT LOOKS A LOT LIKE YOUR PAST”, 2021

MARIJKE DE ROOVER & HELEN ANNA FLANAGAN

AND THEN SHE SAID, “YOU HAVE A FUTURE, BUT IT LOOKS A LOT LIKE YOUR PAST”, 2021

Cette collaboration entre Helen Anna Flanagan et Marijke De Roover est une manière de décentrer les modes d'écriture conventionnels, de revendiquer de l'espace et de faire résonner des voix féministes comme un flot extatique de paroles...

NEFELI PAPADIMOULI

SKINSCAPES

NEFELI PAPADIMOULI

SKINSCAPES

L'œuvre de Nefeli Papadimouli se penche sur l'interdépendance au sein de structures sociales et naturelles, où priment les liens mutuels. Les installations de Papadimouli sont des espaces de rencontre inclusifs où elle examine comment les individus s'assemblent. Dans la Salle de la Tour du M, Nefeli Papadimouli présente de grandes œuvres textiles qui, à certains moments, sont portées collectivement par des artistes de performance.