Sol LeWitt

Sol LeWitt

21.06.2012 - 14.10.2012

Colors

The unique exhibition gathers twenty-four wall drawings in color by the American conceptual artist Sol LeWitt (1928-2007). LeWitt’s wall drawings marked, from the late 1960s on, a revolutionary development in the history of contemporary art. The monumental drawings are executed directly on the walls, according to the artist’s instructions and diagrams. Between 1968 and 2007, LeWitt created more than 1200 wall drawings.

M’s exhibition of twenty-four works is the first major presentation in Belgium of LeWitt’s emblematic practice. Following the chronological evolution of the artist’s oeuvre, the exhibition is organized according to the media LeWitt used in color, namely pencil, crayon, India ink and acrylic paint. In addition to the wall drawings, a wide selection of LeWitt’s artists books is on view as well as a documentary film about the making of the wall drawings at M.

Drafters execute the wall drawings directly on the walls. The drawings adapt to the scale of the exhibition space.  The first drawings were already executed by other artists. At M, professional drafters trained by the LeWitt studio were assisted by about seventy young artists and students from Belgian art schools. The wall drawings exist only for the duration of their exhibition.

The making of

Exhibition organised in collaboration with the LeWitt Collection, Chester, Connecticut and realised with the LeWitt studio and the following colleges: Hogeschool Sint-Lukas Brussel, La Cambre, École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Visuels Bruxelles, Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten | KASK Gent, Sint-Lucas Beeldende Kunst Gent, Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen, Sint Lucas Antwerpen & SLAC/Academie Beeldende Kunst Leuven.

 

Centre Pompidou-Metz
In collaboration with M, Centre Pompidou-Metz presents a retrospective exhibition with a selection of thirty-five wall drawings in black and white.   
 

Curators: Béatrice Gross & Eva Wittocx

Supported by

Sol LeWitt

Sol LeWitt

21.06.2012 - 14.10.2012

Colors

L’exposition unique rassemble vingt-quatre wall drawings en couleur de l’artiste conceptuel américain Sol LeWitt (1928-2007). A partir de la fin des années soixante, les dessins muraux de LeWitt constituèrent une étape cruciale dans l'histoire de l'art contemporain. Les dessins monumentaux sont exécutés directement sur les murs des salles d’exposition conformément aux instructions et diagrammes de l’artiste. Entre 1968 et 2007, Sol LeWitt réalisa plus de 1200 Wall drawings.

Avec ces vingt-quatre dessins muraux, M expose pour la première fois en Belgique, une coupe de son œuvre. L'exposition investit les différents matériaux avec lesquels LeWitt travaillait, comme le crayon, la craie grasse, l'encre chinoise et la peinture acrylique. En marge de cette exposition, il y a également une large sélection de livres d'artistes à compulser ainsi qu'un film illustrant les wall drawings sur place.

Des dessinateurs exécutent les dessins muraux directement sur les murs. Ainsi, les dessins s'adaptent à l'échelle de l'espace d'exposition. Des dessinateurs professionnels, formés dans le Studio LeWitt, ont travaillé avec une septantaine de jeunes artistes et étudiants des écoles d'art et des académies belges. Ces dessins muraux n'existent donc que le temps de l'exposition.

The making of

Exposition conçue en collaboration avec la LeWitt Collection, Chester, Connecticut et réalisée en partenariat avec l’atelier LeWitt et les écoles suivantes:
Hogeschool Sint-Lukas Brussel, La Cambre, École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Visuels Bruxelles, Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten | KASK Gent, Sint-Lucas Beeldende Kunst Gent, Koninklijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten Antwerpen, Sint Lucas Antwerpen en SLAC/Academie Beeldende Kunst Leuven


Centre Pompidou-Metz
En collaboration avec le M-Museum, le Centre Pompidou-Metz présente une rétrospective de wall drawings avec une sélection de trente-cinq dessins muraux en noir et blanc.  
 

Commissaires d'exposition : Béatrice Gross et Eva Wittocx

Avec le soutien de