Summer Course

11 days devoted to medieval and Renaissance sculpture

Summer Course for the Study of the Arts in Flanders

Everyone in the world can study the art of the Low Countries in books, on the internet and in numerous museums. But seeing, studying, and discussing this art in situ with colleagues in your own research field? That is only possible during the annual Summer Course for the Study of the Arts in Flanders. This edition focused on medieval and Renaissance sculpture. A brief report of eleven exciting days.

Third edition

From 18 to 28 June, sixteen researchers took part in the Summer Course. The programme of this third edition was organized by M and it is no coincidence that its theme was medieval and Renaissance sculpture. As a centre of expertise and as the driving force behind the network platform ARDS, this was an ideal occasion for the museum to bring international researchers together in Leuven. All of the sixteen participants were given the opportunity to present their own research and to discuss it with national and international specialists.

Cross-section of medieval sculpture

Introductions at Leuven City Hall and the participants’ research presentations were followed by an intensive programme in Leuven, Mechelen, Bruges, Antwerp, Amsterdam, Utrecht, Maastricht, Aachen, Liège, Zoutleeuw and Brussels. Activities not only included visits to churches and museums, but also exclusive museum warehouse tours, workshops, lectures, and debates. Every aspect of medieval sculpture was discussed, from a period ranging from 796 (with a visit to the Pfalz Chapel in Aachen) to 1566. The beginning of the Iconoclasm marked the end of the glorious period of late-gothic sculpture in the Low Countries. In addition to the range of materials (stone, ivory, alabaster, bronze, copper and wood), the participants also studied the various types of sculpture: religious (altarpieces, church interiors, saints, microsculpture), secular, funerary, etc. Different kinds of research methods and restoration techniques were also introduced. The lecture ‘The Sacred Theatre of Medieval Sculpture’ by Dr. Matt Ethan Kavaler (University of Toronto) provided an excellent synthesis of this edition of the summer course.

Medieval sculpture: a fruitful area of research

This summer course was not only a unique experience for the students. It was likewise a very fruitful event for the museum itself. Interest in medieval sculpture is growing among young researchers and specialists are being given a platform to share this expertise. This cross-fertilization and knowledge sharing is of crucial importance to M as a centre of knowledge and expertise and for the ARDS network. That is why the Summer Course will return to this theme in five years’ time, again organized by M. We are already looking forward to the next edition. 

The Summer Course 2017 was coordinated by the Flemish Art Collection and M-Museum Leuven.

Summer Course

11 jours consacrés à la statuaire du Moyen-Âge et de la Renaissance

Summer Course for the Study of the Arts in Flanders

Partout dans le monde, on peut étudier l’art des Pays-Bas dans les livres, sur internet et dans quelques musées. Mais voir ces œuvres, les étudier et en discuter sur place avec des collègues dans son propre champ de recherche, ce n’est possible qu’une fois par an lors du Summer Course for the Study of the Arts in Flanders. L’édition de cette année était totalement placée sous le signe de la statuaire du Moyen-Âge et de la Renaissance. Voici un bref compte rendu de 11 jours passionnants.

Troisième édition

Du 18 au 28 juin, 16 chercheurs ont pris part au Summer Course. Ce n’est pas un hasard si le programme de cette troisième édition, réalisé par le musée M, était placé sous le signe de la statuaire du Moyen-Âge et de la Renaissance. Le musée étant à la fois centre d’expertise et moteur de la plate-forme ARDS, c’était pour lui une occasion exceptionnelle de réunir des chercheurs internationaux à Louvain.  Les 16 participants ont pu présenter leur propre recherche et en discuter avec des spécialistes belges et internationaux. 

Échantillon de la statuaire médiévale

Après l’accueil organisé à l’hôtel de ville de Louvain et la présentation de leurs différentes recherches, les participants ont pu suivre un programme intensif à Louvain, Malines, Bruges, Anvers, Amsterdam, Utrecht, Maastricht, Aix-la-Chapelle, Liège, Zoutleeuw et Bruxelles. Les visites d’églises et de musées ainsi que les visites guidées exclusives de réserves alternaient avec des ateliers, conférences et débats.  Toutes les facettes de la statuaire médiévale furent abordées, sur une période allant de 796 (avec une visite de la chapelle palatine d’Aix-la-Chapelle) à 1566. Le début de l’Iconoclasme a sonné le glas de la glorieuse période de la statuaire du gothique tardif dans les Lage Landen.  Outre l’éventail des matériaux utilisés (pierre, ivoire, albâtre, bronze, cuivre et bois), les différents types de sculpture furent également abordés : religieuse (retables, intérieurs d’églises, statues de saints, microsculptures), civile, funéraire... Plusieurs techniques de recherche et de restauration furent également passées en revue. La conférence ‘Het heilige theater van de middeleeuwse beeldhouwkunst’ (trad. libre: le saint théâtre de la statuaire médiévale) de  Matt Ethan Kavaler (Université de Toronto) fut une bonne synthèse de cette édition.

La statuaire médiévale : un riche domaine d’étude

Si ce cours d’été fut une expérience unique pour les étudiants, il fut également très riche pour le musée. L’intérêt pour la statuaire médiévale croît parmi les jeunes chercheurs et la plateforme offre aux spécialistes l’occasion de partager leur savoir-faire. Cette fertilisation croisée et ce partage du savoir compte beaucoup pour le musée M en sa qualité de centre de savoir et d’expertise, ainsi que pour le réseau ARDS. C’est pourquoi un Summer Course sera à nouveau consacré à ce thème dans cinq ans, avec le musée M comme programmateur. Nous nous réjouissons d’ores et déjà de la prochaine édition.

Le Summer Course 2017 a été coordonné par la Vlaamse Kunstcollectie et M-Museum Leuven.