Alexis Gautier

Exhibition

Alexis Gautier

17.09.2021 - 20.03.2022
Book a timeslot

L’Heure de la Soupe

Alexis Gautier's work is often created in dialogue with other people. Starting from an interest in cultural transactions, he focuses on exchange, coincidence and the thin line between fact and fiction. Encounters, discoveries or misunderstandings thus form a creative space within which his work emerges in a collective context. The research process is documented in sculptures, video, textiles and performances, all reflecting on the notion of exchange and value, as well as on authorship and the protocols of exhibition-making.

The concept

The exhibition at M is conceived by the artist as a sequence of multiple chapters and movements. Gautier invites different people, including an museum attendant, an artist, an artisan and a neighbour of M to be simultaneously protagonists and co-authors of the exhibition's script. He makes room for a polyphony where a reality can emerge collectively, through collaborations, identity slippages and collisions.

In this sense, 'L’Heure de la Soupe' is seen by Gautier as a light-sensitive film roll on which different scenes, gestures or interventions can leave a trace. Throughout the space and the duration of the exhibition, a dynamic narrative emerges that enters into dialogue with the practice, customs and mechanisms of the museum. Drawing on his interest in processes and models of collaboration, Gautier brings new artworks in an installation tailored to the space at M.

For this exhibition he collaborated with Shi Chunping, Anita Devi, Indu Devi, Minu Devi, Minu Devi, Reena Devi, Sanju Devi, Vibha Devi, Alexis Gautier, Alexis Gautier, Shi Jian, Abhishek Kumar, Anupam Kumar , Annu Kumari, Pinki Kumari, Saumya Kumari, Shilpee Kumari, Tannu Kumari, Shen Runzhong, Kanchan Singh, Richard Tuttle, Shen Weixing, Fang Yaqi and the museum attendants of M Leuven.

 

In addition to the exhibition, M, CIAP Genk and the Royal Academy of Fine Art in Antwerp are publishing a new book, designed by Nico Dockx.

 

In 2022, Gautier will show work at CIAP Genk that is closely related to his exhibition at M.

Alexis Gautier

Alexis Gautier

Bio

Alexis Gautier

Bio

Alexis Gautier (b. 1990, France) lives and works in Brussels and Brittany. He studied at the Städelschule in Frankfurt Am Main (Germany) and is currently a researcher at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp. He has shown his work at BOZAR (Brussels, 2017), Blue Mountain School (London, 2018), Basis (Frankfurt Am Main, 2019), ISLAND (Brussels, 2020), The New Wight Biennial (Los Angeles, 2020), MANIFESTA (Marseille, 2020), Goethe-Institut (Dublin, 2021) and at M Leuven in the group exhibition The Constant Glitch (Leuven, 2021). He is supported by the Fondation des Artistes and the Günther-Peill Foundation. In 2022, Gautier will become an artist in residence at WIELS, The Center for Contemporary Art in Brussels.


With the support of the French Embassy in Brussels (within the framework of EXTRA) and LVD Group

Alexis Gautier

Exposition

Alexis Gautier

17.09.2021 - 20.03.2022
Réservez un créneau horaire

L’Heure de la Soupe

L’œuvre d’Alexis Gautier se crée souvent en dialogue avec d’autres personnes. À partir d’un intérêt pour les transactions culturelles, il se concentre sur l’échange, le hasard et la ligne ténue entre fait et fiction. Les rencontres, découvertes ou malentendus constituent ainsi l’espace créatif et le contexte collectif dans lequel son œuvre voit le jour. Le processus de recherche est documenté au travers de sculptures, de vidéos, de textiles et des performances. Toutes reflètent aussi bien la notion d’auteur, d’échange et de valeur que celle des protocoles d’exposition.

Le concept

Gautier conçoit l’exposition à M comme une succession de plusieurs chapitres et mouvements. L’artiste invite différentes personnes, dont un gardien du musée, un artiste, un artisan et un voisin à être simultanément les protagonistes et les co-auteurs du scénario de l’exposition. Il crée ainsi un espace pour une polyphonie où une réalité peut émerger collectivement au travers de collaborations, de glissements d’identité et de collisions.

En ce sens, Gautier considère 'L’Heure de la Soupe' comme une pellicule photosensible sur laquelle différentes scènes, actions ou interventions peuvent laisser des traces. À travers l’espace et tout au long de la durée de l’exposition, une histoire dynamique entre en dialogue avec la pratique, les usages et les mécanismes du musée. L’intérêt que l’artiste porte aux processus et aux modèles collaboratifs l’amène à réunir de nouvelles œuvres dans une installation conçue sur mesure pour la salle du musée.

Pour cette exposition il a collaboré avec, entre autres, Shi Chunping, Anita Devi, Indu Devi, Minu Devi, Minu Devi, Reena Devi, Sanju Devi, Vibha Devi, Alexis Gautier, Alexis Gautier, Shi Jian, Abhishek Kumar, Anupam Kumar, Annu Kumari, Pinki Kumari, Saumya Kumari, Shilpee Kumari, Tannu Kumari, Shen Runzhong, Kanchan Singh, Richard Tuttle, Shen Weixing, Fang Yaqi et les médiateurs du M Leuven.

 

Parallèlement à l'exposition, M, CIAP Genk et l'Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts d'Anvers publient un nouveau livre, mis en page par Nico Dockx.

 

En 2022, Gautier exposera au CIAP Genk du travail en relation à l'exposition au M.

Alexis Gautier

Alexis Gautier

Bio

Alexis Gautier

Bio

Alexis Gautier (° 1990, France) vit et travaille à Bruxelles et en Bretagne. Il a étudié à la Städelschule à Francfort (Allemagne) et est rattaché en tant que chercheur à l’Académie royale des Beaux-Arts d’Anvers. Il a présenté ses œuvres à BOZAR (Bruxelles, 2017), Blue Mountain School (Londres, 2018), Basis (Francfort, 2019), ISLAND (Bruxelles, 2020), The New Wight Biennial (Los Angeles, 2020), MANIFESTA (Marseille, 2020), Goethe-Institut (Dublin, 2021) et au M Leuven dans l’exposition de groupe 'The Constant Glitch' (Louvain, 2020). Il est soutenu par la Fondation des Artistes et par la Fondation Günther-Peill. En 2022, Gautier obtiendra une résidence au WIELS, le centre d'art contemporain de Bruxelles.


Avec le soutien de l’Ambassade de France à Bruxelles (dans le cadre d’EXTRA) et LVD Group