Thomas Demand

09.10.2020 - 18.04.2021

House of Card

The work of the German artist Thomas Demand (1964) balances between fiction and reality. Although trained as a sculptor, Demand’s main medium is photography, which he uses to record his ephemeral life-size models made of coloured paper and cardboard. By destroying the paper constructions once the photograph has been taken, their only raison d’être is the final photographic image.

Demand’s work is often based on pre-existing historical or contemporary found images taken from the media, from books or online sources. By meticulously constructing photographs based on self-made models, he deliberately removes his compositions from the images they are supposed to depict.

Model Studies

In the fall of 2020, M Leuven presents a major solo exhibition of Thomas Demand’s work, focusing on his relationship to architecture. The starting point of the show at M is his ongoing series of Model Studies, in which the concept of the model itself is key. The Model Studies deal with the relationship between Demand’s work and that of other artists, architects and (fashion) designers, such as John Lautner, SANAA (Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa), Hans Hollein and – in more recent works – Azzedine Alaia or Gio Ponti.

Rarely shown projects

In addition to this series, the exhibition will present an overview of Thomas Demand’s interest and involvement in architecture of the past fifteen years. It will include rarely shown projects such as Black Label (2009), which was commented on by Rirkrit Tiravanija in Untitled (Thomas Demands Here) (2013); Embassy (2007), a collaboration with German architect Arno Brandlhuber; Nagelhaus (2008), an unrealised public-space project in collaboration with Caruso St John in Zürich, Switzerland; and the Kvadrat congress center (2020), three buildings in Denmark that have been designed by Thomas Demand and will be real, functional buildings.

 

Curator: Valerie Verhack

 

The exhibition at M will be accompanied by a book.

Thomas Demand

Thomas Demand

BIO

Thomas Demand

BIO

Thomas Demand has been the subject of numerous solo exhibitions, at The Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin and the Fondazione Prada in Venice and Milan, among others.


He represented Germany at the Bienal de São Paulo. He lives and works in Berlin and Los Angeles.

Thomas Demand

Thomas Demand

09.10.2020 - 18.04.2021

House of Card

L’œuvre de l’artiste allemand Thomas Demand (1964) oscille entre fiction et réalité. Bien que formé à la sculpture, le médium principalement investi par Demand est la photographie, qu’il emploie pour immortaliser des maquettes éphémères grandeur nature, faites de papier coloré et de carton. Les constructions en papier sont détruites une fois le cliché réalisé, la photographie finale devenant leur seule raison d’existence.

Demand se base souvent sur des images existantes, qu’elles soient historiques ou contemporaines, trouvées dans des médias, des livres ou en ligne. En s’appuyant sur des modèles qu’il réalise lui-même pour ses photographies, l’artiste instaure une distance entre ses compositions minutieusement construites et les scènes qu’elles sont censées représenter.

Model Studies

À l’automne 2020, M Leuven présente une exposition monographique majeure de l’œuvre de Thomas Demand, consacrée à sa relation à l’architecture. Le point de départ de l’exposition au M est sa série toujours en cours des Model Studies, centrée autour du concept du modèle. Dans ses Model Studies, Demand explore la relation entre ses œuvres et les créations d’autres artistes, architectes et designers (de mode), tels que John Lautner, SANAA (Kazuyo Sejima + Ryue Nishizawa), Hans Hollein et, récemment, Azzedine Alaïa.

Projets rarement montrés

Outre la présentation de cette série, l’exposition aura également une dimension rétrospective, mettant en lumière l’intérêt et le dévouement de Thomas Demand à l’égard de l’architecture depuis bientôt quinze ans. L’exposition comprendra des projets rarement montrés comme Black Label (2009), commenté par Rirkrit Tiravanija dans Untitled (Thomas Demands Here) (2013), Embassy (2007) – une collaboration avec l’architecte allemand Arno Brandlhuber –, Nagelhaus (2008) – un projet non réalisé pour l’espace public à Zürich, Suisse, en collaboration avec Caruso St John – et les pavillons Kvadrat (2020), trois bâtiments conçus par Thomas Demand qui sont actuellement en construction au Danemark.

 

Commissaire d' exposition : Valerie Verhack

 

L’exposition sera accompagnée d’une publication.

Thomas Demand

Thomas Demand

BIO

Thomas Demand

BIO

L’œuvre de Thomas Demand a fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions monographiques, entre autres au Museum of Modern Art, New York, à la Neue Nationalgalerie, Berlin ou encore à la Fondazione Prada, Venise et Milan. Il a représenté l’Allemagne à la Biennale de São Paulo.


Il réside et travaille à Berlin et Los Angeles.