Kiluanji Kia Henda

Kiluanji Kia Henda

21.02.2020 - 30.08.2020
Book a timeslot

Kiluanji Kia Henda (1979, Luanda, Angola) explores issues of today’s society in a unique and engaging manner, encouraging critical thinking. His work encompasses a wide range of themes such as politics, identity and the complex relationship between Africa and the West, often evoked in a poetic or satirical manner. The artist mostly uses photography, video and installation, all of which are present at M in his first Belgian solo exhibition.

Power

Having grown up in Angola during the civil war following the independence, Kia Henda’s art is grounded in the history of his country. It is also the outcome of a worldwide journey, as foreign influences have been shaping Angola for centuries, from Portuguese colonisation to today’s Chinese-built cities. This global aspect pervades the artist’s work, exposing the power dynamics between countries and continents, including the various tools used to assert supremacy.

Humour and irony

While he started out as a self-taught street photographer, Kia Henda outgrew his initial documentary approach and developed increasingly universal storylines. Subverting history and interweaving elements of fiction into fact gave rise to new creative possibilities, displaying humour and irony. This is how the artist came to found an imaginary organisation called O.R.G.A.S.M. (Organisation of African States for Mellowness, 2011-2013) and present photographic evidence of an Angolan space mission to the sun that never took place (Icarus 13, 2008).  

Contemporary themes, timeless dimension

At M, the artist shows both recent and earlier work in two galleries. While the art on display takes on very different forms, the works share a startling quality, prompting us to interrogate what we see and look beyond appearances. The political undertone becomes manifest when we begin to perceive contemporary themes: migration, exclusion and the relationship between nature and culture. As geopolitical references are rendered suggestive and forms tend towards abstraction, the questions raised by Kiluanji Kia Henda acquire a universal, timeless dimension.

Prepare your visit

Accompanying information: online and offline

To limit the spread of the coronavirus we currently do not provide paper folders. As an alternative, you can find all information on this page, with the availability to download and print it at home. Explanatory texts are also provided on the walls in the museum halls and audio guides continue to be available and are disinfected between each use.

Want to learn more?

Artist talk

Kiluanji Kia Henda

Afrika Filmfestival at M [CANCELLED] 

Kiluanji Kia Henda

Kiluanji Kia Henda

BIO

Kiluanji Kia Henda

BIO

Kiluanji Kia Henda (°1979, Luanda, Angola) lives and works in Luanda and Lisbon. Recent solo shows include Concreto Blues at Jahmek Contemporary Art in Luanda (2019), A Ilha de Vénus at HANGAR – Centro de Investigação Artística in Lisbon (2018), A City Called Mirage at the International Studio and Curatorial Program (ISCP) in New York (2017), In the Days of a Dark Safari at Galeria Filomena Soares in Lisbon, Goodman Gallery in Cape Town (2017) and Self-Portrait As A White Man at Galleria Fonti in Naples (2010).


Kia Henda has participated in group exhibitions at numerous institutions, amongst which Zeitz MOCAA in Cape Town (2019), Tate Modern in London (2019), MAAT in Lisbon (2018), Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris (2016), the National Museum of African Art – Smithsonian Institution in Washington D.C. (2015) and the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao (2015). His work was shown at the Gwangju Biennale (2018), São Paulo Biennale (2010), Venice Biennale (2007) and the Luanda Triennale (2007).


In 2017, Kia Henda received the Frieze Artist Award. He presented his work The Fortress in the Somerset House courtyard (London) in 2019. The artist won Angola’s National Culture and Arts Award in 2012. His work can be found in many public and private collections, including Tate Modern (London), the Museum of Modern Art (Warsaw), FRAC Grand Large – Hauts-de-France (Dunkerque), and Pérez Art Museum (Miami).

Kiluanji Kia Henda

Kiluanji Kia Henda

21.02.2020 - 30.08.2020
Réservez un créneau horaire

Kiluanji Kia Henda (°1979, Luanda, Angola) explore de façon unique et engageante des problématiques de la société actuelle, encourageant la pensée critique. Son œuvre englobe un large éventail de thèmes tels que la politique, l’identité et les relations complexes entre l’Afrique et l’Occident, souvent évoqués de manière poétique ou satirique. L’artiste utilise surtout la photographie, la vidéo et l’installation, des médias tous présents au M, qui accueille sa première exposition monographique en Belgique.

Pouvoir

Ayant grandi en Angola pendant la guerre civile qui a suivi l’indépendance, l’art de Kia Henda est ancré dans l’histoire de son pays, mais est aussi le fruit d’un voyage à travers le monde entier, dans la mesure où des influences étrangères ont façonné l’Angola pendant des siècles, de la colonisation portugaise aux villes contemporaines de construction chinoise. Cet aspect mondial imprègne l’œuvre de l’artiste, qui expose les luttes de pouvoir entre pays et continents, et les différents outils employés pour affirmer l’ascendance.

Humour et ironie

Après ses débuts de photographe de rue autodidacte, Kia Henda a dépassé son approche documentaire initiale et a développé des lignes narratives toujours plus universelles. Subvertir l’Histoire et entrelacer des éléments de fiction et des faits réels ont donné lieu à de nouvelles possibilités créatives, teintées d’humour et d’ironie. C’est ainsi que l’artiste en est venu à fonder une organisation imaginaire appelée O.R.G.A.S.M. (Organisation of African States for Mellowness, 2011-2013) et à présenter des preuves photographiques d’une mission spatiale angolaise vers le soleil qui n’a jamais eu lieu (Icarus 13, 2008).

Thèmes contemporains, dimension universelle

Au M, Kia Henda présente des œuvres récentes et plus anciennes dans deux salles. Si l’art exposé adopte des formes très différentes, les œuvres partagent une qualité étonnante qui incite à s’interroger sur ce que l’on voit et à regarder au-delà des apparences. La tonalité politique devient manifeste dès qu’on commence à percevoir des thèmes contemporains : la migration, l’exclusion et la relation entre la nature et la culture. À mesure que les références géopolitiques deviennent suggestives et que les formes tendent vers l’abstraction, les questions que soulève Kiluanji Kia Henda acquièrent une dimension universelle et intemporelle.

Préparez votre visite

Informations sur les expositions: en ligne et hors ligne

Pour limiter la propagation du coronavirus, nous ne proposons actuellement pas de documents papier. Alternativement, vous trouverez toutes les informations sur cette page, avec la possibilité de les télécharger et de les imprimer chez vous. Des textes explicatifs seront apposés sur les murs des salles et des audioguides sont disponibles et seront désinfectés entre chaque usage. 

voulez-vous en savoir plus?

Artist talk

Kiluanji Kia Henda

Afrika Filmfestival au M [ANNULÉ]

Kiluanji Kia Henda

Kiluanji Kia Henda

BIO

Kiluanji Kia Henda

BIO

Kiluanji Kia Henda (né en 1979 à Luanda, Angola) vit et travaille à Luanda et Lisbonne. Parmi ses récentes expositions solo, relevons Concreto Blues au Jahmek Contemporary Art à Luanda (2019), A Ilha de Vénus au HANGAR – Centro de Investigação Artística à Lisbonne (2018), A City Called Mirage au International Studio and Curatorial Program (ISCP) à New York (2017), In the Days of a Dark Safari à la Galeria Filomena Soares à Lisbonne, à la Goodman Gallery au Cap (2017) ainsi que Self-Portrait As A White Man à la Galleria Fonti à Naples (2010).


Kia Henda a participé à des expositions collectives dans de nombreuses institutions, dont le Zeitz MOCAA au Cap (2019), la Tate Modern à Londres (2019), la MAAT à Lisbonne (2018), le Centre Georges Pompidou à Paris (2016), le National Museum of African Art – Smithsonian Institution à Washington (2015) ainsi que le Musée Guggenheim à Bilbao (2015). Ses oeuvres ont été exposées aux Biennales de Gwangju (2018), São Paulo (2010) et Venise(2007) ainsi qu’à la Triennale de Luanda (2007).


En  2017, Kia Henda s’est vu décerner le Frieze Artist Award. Il a présenté son oeuvre The Fortress au Somerset House Courtyard à Londres en 2019. L’artiste a été récompensé par le Prix National de la Culture et des Arts de l’Angola en 2012. Ses oeuvres ornent de nombreuses collections publiques et privées, dont la Tate Modern (Londres), le Musée d’Art moderne de Varsovie, le FRAC Grand Large – Hauts-de-France (Dunkerque) ainsi que le Pérez Art Museum (Miami).