Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Exhibition

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

06.05.2022 - 30.10.2022
Buy a ticket

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (1978, Guatemala) creates dreamlike works of art taking elements from literature, folklore, magic and childhood memories. His work explores cultural identity and history, trauma, colonisation and the connection between humans and nature. He uses various media such as performance, film, sculpture, painting, and installation. The result is always strongly visual, often with a humorous, playful or absurd side. Certain elements - such as masks or the act of sleeping - recur regularly throughout his oeuvre and are thus given layered meanings, whether literally, figuratively, philosophically, or as metaphors.

 

Ramírez-Figueroa's work is rooted in experimental theatre and has a political-activist side, often linked to the history of his country. The tragic civil war in Guatemala (1960-1996) is one of the recurring subjects. In his more recent work, themes are broader and reflect ecology, the relationship between humans and nature and the history of raw materials such as tea, cocoa and silk.

The exhibition at M shows a selective overview of his diverse artistic practice, with installations, sculptures, woodcuts and films. A new group of sculptures developed by the artist last year will also be presented. This new work deals with the complex history of silk in Guatemala in both a figurative and narrative way, touching on the Mayan culture and with links to China, Mexico and Spain, among others. The production and presentation of this work is supported by M.

 

This is not the first time M has shown work by Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa. In 2017 and 2018 he presented some of his films and a performance during the Playground festival. In 2018, he worked on new creations during his M residency.

 

Curator: Eva Wittocx

 

Thanks to Sies + Höke, Mendes Wood DM, Catherine Petitgas Collection, Frac Grand Large – Hauts-de-France.

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Bio

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Bio

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa lives and works in Guatemala City. He studied in Vancouver, Chicago and Maastricht. He has participated in several solo and group exhibitions, such as recently at Sies + Höke, Düsseldorf (2021), The Powerplant, Toronto (2020), Museo Nacional Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid (2020), Mendes Wood DM, Brussels (2019), Proyectos Ultravioleta, Guatemala City (2018) and New Museum, New York (2018).


Also interesting for you

Exhibition

Wael Shawky

Collection presentation

Take your Time

Collection presentation

The Ten

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Exposition

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

06.05.2022 - 30.10.2022
Achetez un ticket

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (°1978, Guatemala) crée des œuvres oniriques émaillées d’éléments littéraires, folkloriques, magiques et de souvenirs de jeunesse. Son œuvre explore l’identité culturelle et l’histoire, le traumatisme, la colonisation et le lien entre l’être humain et la nature. Il le fait à la faveur de diverses disciplines : performances, films, sculptures, gravures sur bois et installations. Une à une des œuvres d’une grande force, souvent avec une tournure humoristique, ludique et absurde. Différents éléments – tels que le masque, un fardeau ou le sommeil – apparaissent régulièrement dans ses réalisations et prennent ainsi des sens stratifiés, aussi bien au sens figuré que littéral, philosophique que métaphorique.

 

L’œuvre de Ramírez-Figueroa est enracinée dans le théâtre expérimental et n’est pas dénuée d’un aspect politique et militant, souvent lié à l’histoire de son pays. Ainsi, la tragique guerre civile qui a sévi au Guatemala de 1960 à 1996 est un thème récurrent. Les thématiques de ses œuvres plus récentes couvrent des sujets plus vastes et se penchent sur l’écologie, le lien entre l’être humain et nature ou l’histoire de ressources naturelles comme le thé, le cacao et la soie. L’artiste traite tous ces sujets de manière associative avec pour conséquence qu’on ne peut jamais en faire une lecture directe.

L’exposition à M présente une rétrospective sélective de ses diverses pratiques artistiques, avec des installations spatiales, des sculptures, des gravures sur bois et des films. Nous exposons également une nouvelle série de sculptures réalisées au cours de l’année passée. Ces nouvelles œuvres abordent, de façon aussi bien figurative que narrative, l’histoire complexe de la soie au Guatemala. Une histoire qui touche à la culture maya et qui entretient des liens avec, entre autres, la Chine, le Mexique et l’Espagne. M soutient la production et la diffusion de ses œuvres.

 

Ce n’est pas la première fois que M montre des œuvres de Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa. En 2017 et en 2018, il a projeté quelques-uns de ses films et livré une de ses performances dans le cadre du festival Playground. En 2018, lors de sa résidence à M, il a réalisé de nouvelles œuvres sous l’égide du musée.

 

Commissaire de l’exposition : Eva Wittocx

 

Merci à Sies + Höke, Mendes Wood DM, Catherine Petitgas Collection, Frac Grand Large – Hauts-de-France.

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Bio

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Bio

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa vit et travaille à Guatemala City. Après des études à Vancouver, Chicago et Maastricht, il a pris part à diverses expositions de groupe ou en solo, récemment encore aux musées et galeries d'art suivants : Sies + Höke, Düsseldorf (2021), The Powerplant, Toronto (2020), Museo Nacional Thyssen-Bornemisza, Madrid (2020), Mendes Wood DM, Bruxelles (2019), Proyectos Ultravioleta, Guatemala City (2018) et New Museum, New York (2018).


Aussi intéressant pour vous

Exposition

Wael Shawky

Présentation de collection

Prenez votre Temps

Présentation de collection

Les Dix