Wael Shawky

Exhibition

Wael Shawky

11.03.2022 - 28.08.2022
Buy a ticket

Dry Culture Wet Culture

Egyptian artist Wael Shawky (1971) spent many childhood years in Alexandria, Egypt and Mecca, Saudi Arabia where he witnessed the transition from a nomadic society to a modernised society. This transition from Dry Culture to Wet Culture made a deep and lasting impression on him.

 

Social change remains central to his art and in particular the question how this intertwines with themes such as identity, religion, politics and history. He sees his artworks as a way of making these issues tangible. He works with various media including paintings, drawings, sculpture, film and even music.

 

At the exhibition 'Dry Culture Wet Culture' you can see two new installations. The first is 'The Gulf Camp project: The Wall #2’ and is part of 'The Gulf Project Camp' series, a project that explores the history of the Arabian peninsula from the 17th century onwards. The installation includes a wall covered in black graphite on which cloths have been stretched out recalling Bedouin tents. It brings together a traditional nomadic form of society with a contemporary, industrialised one.

The second new installation was made especially for M. Based on Shawky's interest in societies and local traditions, he tries to adapt his works and the way they are presented to the surroundings. The museum hall, with a panoramic view of the city of Leuven, was the starting point for 'The Gulf Camp Project': Drama' which is a large installation that embraces the concepts of urbanity and architecture.

 

M also shows drawings, woodcuts and a film from the 'Cabaret Crusades' series. At its centre is a film trilogy that tells the story of the Crusades, but then from an Arabic perspective. The characters are played by puppets - some of them are on display in the exhibition.

 

‘The Cave’ is also a film work. It shows Shawky walking through a supermarket while reciting a passage from the Koran. The video raises questions: Is it an attempt to link economics and religion? Or does he just want to make it clear that those worlds are incompatible?

 

Curators: Valerie Verhack

Wael Shawky

Wael Shawky, portrait, 2014

Bio

Wael Shawky

Bio

Wael Shawky studied at the universities of Alexandria (Egypt) and Pennsylvania (United States). Currently he lives and works in Alexandria and Philadelphia. In the past he had solo exhibitions at Louvre Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (2020); ARoS, Aarhus Kunstmuseum, Aarhus, Denmark (2018); Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), Yinchuan, China (2017); Castello di Rivoli, Turin, Italy (2016); MATHAF, Doha, Qatar (2015); MoMA P.S.1, New York, United States (2015) and K20 Düsseldorf, Germany (2014-15). His work has won several grants and awards, such as the Mario Merz Prize (2015); the Award for Filmic Oeuvre created by Louis Vuitton and Kino der Kunst (2013) or the Abraaj Capital Art Prize (2012). In 2010 he founded MASS Alexandria, an educational institution for promising artists active in Egypt. His work is represented by Lisson Gallery and Sfeir Semler Gallery.


Also interesting for you

Exhibition

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Collection presentation

Take your Time

Collection presentation

The Ten

Wael Shawky

Exposition

Wael Shawky

11.03.2022 - 28.08.2022
Achetez un ticket

Dry Culture Wet Culture

L'artiste égyptien Wael Shawky (né en 1971) a passé une grande partie de son enfance à Alexandrie en Égypte et à La Mecque en Arabie saoudite. Dans ce dernier pays, il a été témoin de la transition d'une communauté marquée par le nomadisme à une société moderne. Ce passage d'une Dry Culture ou « culture sèche » à une Wet Culture ou « culture humide » lui a laissé une impression indélébile.

 

Aujourd'hui encore, les bouleversements sociétaux sont au cœur de son art, tout comme leurs liens étroits avec des thématiques telles que l'identité, la religion, la politique et l'histoire. Shawky considère ses œuvres d'art comme un moyen de rendre tangibles ces questions. Il est actif dans diverses disciplines : peinture, dessin, sculpture, cinéma et même musique.

 

L'exposition 'Dry Culture Wet Culture' comprend deux nouvelles installations. La première, 'The Gulf Camp project: The Wall #2', fait partie de la série 'The Gulf Project Camp' qui examine l'histoire de la péninsule arabe depuis le XVIIe siècle. Elle se compose entre autres d'un mur enduit de graphite noir sur lequel sont tendues des toiles évoquant les tentes bédouines. L'installation relie la société nomade traditionnelle à la société industrialisée actuelle.

La seconde nouvelle installation a été créée tout spécialement pour le M. De par l'intérêt que porte  Shawky au mode sociétal et aux traditions locales, il tente à chaque fois d'adapter au contexte les œuvres qu'il présente et leur mode de présentation. La salle du M offrant une vue panoramique sur Louvain lui a servi de point de départ pour 'The Gulf Camp Project: Drama', une grande installation explorant les concepts d'urbanité et d'architecture.

 

Le M présente également des dessins, des gravures sur bois et un film de la série 'Cabaret Crusades', une trilogie racontant l'histoire des croisades sous une optique arabe. Les personnages sont interprétés par des marionnettes, dont quelques-unes sont visibles dans l'exposition.

 

'The Cave' est un autre film ; Shawky y déambule dans un supermarché en récitant une sourate coranique. Ces images suscitent des questions : s'agit-il d'une tentative de mettre en rapport l'économie et la religion ? Ou Shawky veut-il justement faire comprendre que ces deux domaines sont incompatibles ?

 

Commissaire : Valerie Verhack

Wael Shawky

Wael Shawky, portrait, 2014

Bio

Wael Shawky

Bio

Wael Shawky a étudié aux universités d'Alexandrie (Égypte) et de Pennsylvanie (États-Unis). Il vit et travaille actuellement à Alexandrie et à Philadelphie. Des expositions personnelles de ses œuvres ont eu lieu au Louvre Abu Dhabi aux Émirats arabes (2020), à l'ARoS Aarhus Kunstmuseum à Aarhus au Danemark (2018), au Musée d'Art contemporain (MOCA) à Yinchuan en Chine (2017, au Castello du Rivoli à Turin en Italie (2016), au Mataf à Doha au Qatar (2015), au MoMA P.S.1 à New York aux États-Unis (2015) et au K20 à Düsseldorf en Allemagne (2014-2015). Son travail a été récompensé à plusieurs reprises, entre autres par le Mario Merz Prize (2015), l'Award for the Filmic Oeuvre attribué par la Fondation Louis Vuitton et Kino der Kunst (2013) et l'Abraaj Capital Art Prize (2012). En 2010 Shawky a fondé MASS Alexandria, un lieu d'enseignement pour artistes prometteurs actifs en Égypte. Il est représenté par Lisson Gallery et Sfeir Semler Gallery.


Aussi intéressant pour vous

Exposition

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa

Présentation de collection

Prenez votre Temps

Présentation de collection

Les Dix